The department is divided into three working groups. With the appointment of Prof. Dr. Freddy Kleitz in 2016, the designation Department of Inorganic Chemistry - functional materials was created. The WG Porous Materials was brought in by Prof. Kleitz. The WG Metallic Systems emerged from the already existing structures at the former "Institute of Inorganic Chemistry - Materials Chemistry". It is equally represented by ao. Prof. Dr. H. Flandorfer and ao. Prof. Dr. K. Richter. In 2022 Assoz. Prof. Jia Min Chin, PHD joined our institute and founded the WG Chin. The integration of the AG Catalysis under the direction of Univ.-Prof. Dr. K. C. Hultzsch in July 2023 finally led to the name change to the now Institute for Functional Materials and Catalysis.